Skip to content

Teen Gluten Free and “Thai” Chicken Soup

November 11, 2009

 

 

My 15 yo daughter recently (like a month ago) decided that even though she can’t get tests to say definitively that she has Celiac disease like mom. Morgan 50's day homecoming 2009She can look in the mirror, and she can talk with mom about what Mom’s symptoms were like when she was 15.
Lets see.

  1. Stabbing pain under left rib – check
  2. Major issues with mood swings and serious depression – check
  3. Everything is FULL OF DRAMA AND OMG MOM! – check
  4. Headaches every afternoon – check
  5. Occasional stomachaches – check
  6. Occasional bouts with the Big D – check
  7. Occasional neuropathy in hands and feet – check
  8. Pretty severe bone/muscle pain a couple of times a week – check

Then throw in some of her own symptoms, like a blood vessel in her hand popping about once a month (very painfully too) and you’ve got a teen who is willing to try and feel better.

This time last year, it was NO WAY mom, I’m not EVAR depriving myself of all these foods that I love.  But then the depression hit, and you would do anything not to feel like that again. Not to mention the daily headaches right when she needs to practice her clarinet and oboe, right when she’s got homework, and right when she’s trying to talk on the phone, type on the internet and do chores at the same time.

So she approached me, I was supportive. I made her awesome lunches to take to school, other kids were jealous LOL. I made sure we had plenty of snack foods and yummy stuff that was healthy for her to have around the house.

Then she started feeling better…. then she started feeling MUCH better.

This of course, seriously upset her. My younger daughters say stuff like ‘thanks Dad for the monkey arms!’ or ‘Thanks Dad for the hairy back!’ But Morgan says ‘Thanks mom for the Celiac!’ with just the right tone of sarcasm! Even though she feels so much better, and even though she’s been prevented from all the medical issues I had as an adult… She still mourns (and whines). I point out that my dad is being tested, that her G. Grandmother has all the symptoms and that BOTH of her parents died of complications from probable celiac disease in the 40’s. But of course it’s my fault (same as the big butt, large upper arms and shortness are all my fault too LOL!!)

Marilyn Jennings and Tom Sanders 1950

My Grandmother and Grandfather in 1950

Luckily. She’s got a mom who is a good cook, and luckily she loves to experiment with foods. (eating them not cooking them) So it’s a simple matter to make delicious food that she loves and is naturally gluten free most of the time.

Then 3 days ago, one of her good friends that lives about 3 houses down from us was put on a gluten-free diet by his doctor. Now she has a buddy to commiserate with. But unlike her, Micheal doesn’t have a family that is supportive, he’s pretty much stuck eating meat and potatoes unless he comes over here. And that gives Morgan an appreciation for just how good she has it.

And that’s never a bad thing for a teen, especially when it’s NOT their mother reminding them LOL!!

So what did Morgan take to lunch today? In her cute little thermos she took a large serving of our ‘Thai’ Chicken Soup.

I invented this a few years ago while pregnant with Morgan’s baby sister and Hot and Sour Soup was the ONLY thing keeping me fed. It killed my nausea and made me feel like 100 bucks. I wanted to know if there were other relatively spicy foods that I could eat and feel better.

Thai Chicken Soup

  • 8 cups chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup sesame oil
  • 1 bunch green onions
  • 1 whole chicken
  • 1 whole cabbage – regular or Asian – diced
  • 1 can water chestnuts
  • 1 can sliced bamboo
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 jar Thai Spicy Sweet Sauce (GF)
  • 2 TB diced garlic
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 cups snow peas (optional)

I usually cook the chicken in the crockpot the day before in 6 cups of water. I debone it and use the broth it creates in the stew.

In sauce pan, place oil, garlic, ginger and chicken and sautee for about 15 min. Then place in 8 cups of chicken broth. Add in the diced cabbage, water chestnuts, sliced bamboo, and beans. Simmer for about 20 min. Then add in the sweet chili sauce, snow peas and garnish with the diced green onions to serve.

This soup also has the added benefit of all the goodness of mom’s homemade chicken soup, but with added ‘spicy’ to clear your sick head too. It makes a great out of the box comfort food at our house. I usually freeze individual portions after Morgan and I stuff ourselves silly LOL!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheryl@SomewhatCrunchy permalink
    November 11, 2009 6:25 pm

    That sounds delicious! The only Thai dish I ever made was a soup…it was red and good…but I can’t remember what it was. I will definitely give this a try in the upcoming coooooold months.

  2. November 11, 2009 6:43 pm

    I’m glad she’s decided to go gf and is feeling better. I’m sure it’s hard though. You are a great supportive mom! Thanks for linking to What can I eat that’s gluten free?

  3. November 11, 2009 7:01 pm

    That soup sounds so good! I’m on such a soup kick now that it’s colder out.

    And I’m really glad your daughter’s friend can come over to your house for good gluten-free meals! She’s lucky to have you taking such good care of her!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Menu « Spiral Owl’s Create-it Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

