Skip to content

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup – What Can I Eat that’s GF?

February 7, 2010

I had a couple of sweet potatoes in the fridge almost to the expiration date. I have a cold, and I think I’m working towards a sinus infection. So I really need to do that whole onion and garlic, with some cayenne pepper to boost up my immune system. I also have a house free of children and picky-man.

Put all of that together and that means Momma can experiment!

So I started searching online for key words ‘spicy’ ‘sweet potato’ and ‘onion’.

I found a bunch of things, but one particular recipe stood out.  I had almost all the ingredients. Plus some of them were even fresh from the garden. So I changed the recipe to fit our household a little better (not so spicy teenager) and more colorful (no white onions)  and I  can present you with our version now…

1/2 cup sour cream

1 lime, zested, then juiced

2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed small

5 green onions, diced (I used scissors and snip mine directly into the pot)

2 cloves garlic, diced

4 cups chicken stock

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1/2 cup peanut butter

First, place the chicken stock in your pot, and put the green onions and sweet potatoes in to simmer and soften. Next, place your lime zest in the sour cream, stir, then let sit so the two flavors can mingle.

When the sweet potatoes are soft, mash them up (I have a potato masher thanks to my Grandmother Weikel stocking me up on kitchen goodies when I first moved out years ago) but you can use a fork or a flat spatula. When they are in a lot smaller pieces and a good bit of the potatoes are now minuscule pieces in the soup add in your peanut butter. When it’s melted. Turn off the heat, add the lime juice and the sour cream/lime zest mix.

Stir and serve!

There was enough to serve 3 hungry ladies, plus enough leftover for my GF teen to take to school for lunch tomorrow in her awesome thermos.  AND enough lunch for me too.

I thought originally that it might be better if I diced up some boneless chicken breast. But it was plenty hearty the way it was. I’m still full hours later and a pure veggie meal tends to make me feel starving in 20 minutes.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. firebear permalink
    February 10, 2010 2:29 pm

    This sounds yummy. I love chicken stock and peanut butter.

  2. February 10, 2010 2:31 pm

    That’s very creative and sounds tasty. Too bad my husband is not a fan of sweet potatoes and can’t eat peanut butter. I’ll have to try it for lunch some time.

  3. February 10, 2010 8:45 pm

    Ooooo Sounds yummy!

  4. February 10, 2010 10:08 pm

    yeah, my honey and younger kids aren’t very open to ‘interesting’ either. So I usually keep my attempts to when they aren’t here (like at a Super Bowl Party LOL)

  5. February 12, 2010 9:10 am

    That sounds very interesting.
    I bet my husband would love it.
    I myself can not do spicey.
    It does sound yummy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

