Skip to content

Gluten-Free Sourdough

March 17, 2008

So I did it!!

I used the starter in my previous post (3/4 c brown rice flour, 1/4 cup ground flax seed and 1 cup kefir – though 1/2 water and 1/2 cup plain  yogurt with the probiotics in it ought to work)

So the bread, it was yellow, from the soy flour, had brown flecks in it, from the flax seed meal. It didn’t bake up as big as wheat bread, and the starter didn’t take 3 days to ferment like wheat starter does! It was ready the next day. (also keep in mind that these are all the gluten free flours I have on hand until my order comes in, what can I say, I got impatient and my boys wanted BREAD!)

So the next day (Saturday) I took out 1 cup of starter, then added back 1 cup of rice/flax seed meal-1 cup of kefir to the starter jar.

In a glass bowl I mixed together

2 cup soy flour

1 2/3 cup brown rice flour

1/3 cup flax seed meal

I mixed these together until it was uniform in color/texture

Then added:

2 cups warm water

1 TB honey

1 cup sourdough starter

I mixed throughly, and left it in the glass bowl covered in a kitchen towel to rise. Usually this takes about 9 hours, so I left it overnight. I try to time things so that when I get up in the morning I can finish the bread.

So yesterday morning (Sunday) I turned the glass bowl of risen dough over into a larger bowl, mixed in

2 cup soy flour

1 2/3 cup brown rice flour

1/3 cup flax seed meal

2 tsp salt

1 TB honey

and kneaded these altogether until the bread had a good elastic texture. BUT it NEVER got as ‘thick’ feeling OR as ‘elastic’ feeling as wheat bread. Something in my little baker heart just told me to stop, so I did LOL.

Anyways, I put the now shaped like a loaf bread dough into my loaf pan (greased with coconut oil on the bottom and the bottom 1.5 inches of the sides) and covered it with a towel to rise. By about 1pm it was ready to go. Like I said, it hadn’t risen as much as wheat flour does. Which was disappointing considering the sourdough starter was practically out of it’s jar it rose to high so fast (not my experience with wheat sourdough starter). But it smelled right and it hadn’t risen any higher for about an hour.

So I filled a pyrex baking dish with water, put it in the oven and pre-heated the oven to 350. I’ve found that if I DON’T put water in the oven with the bread I get a very hard crust, that my kids don’t much like. So I use the water. You don’t have to.

When it was preheated, I placed the dough in the oven and the ‘oh please, oh please!’ praying commenced.

About 45 min later I took it out. It’d split a little on the top, but it was a good uniform brown, not spotty (my oven is old, and cheap to begin with) and not overdone. Yay!

Crowded about with children and boyfriend all clamouring for a bite, since it smelled really good. We broke out the butter, slathered it on a few pieces, and all bit in.

I got two thumbs up from the 7 and 8 year old boys, and the picky boyfriend liked it too (though I’m not sure that’s a good thing, he’s a weird picky, liking bland food)

The boys are excited because they get sandwiches for lunch today!

I’ll post pictures of them later (I hope, if life doest swallow me)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

