Skip to content

More Fabric, More GF Bread

March 20, 2008

So I did it again.

Yes,

I went and bought more fabric. This time, in stretch knit, so I can make some more ‘moby’ style wraps to put up on my etsy shop. I got pink and dark navy blue, with some Pooh fabric that’s almost a toile, black with pink polka dots, and blue flames. The pooh goes with both knit fabrics. All the cutesy stuff is going to be edgings.
I’ve got all the fabric from the last couple of days washed, it’s been hung out to dry on the line, and is now folded and awaiting me in my Craft Room.

Sadly, Kaia, who is going to be 8 months old on Saturday, has decided she really can’t be more than arms reach away from me. This is the WORST case of separation anxiety I’ve ever seen in a child. She screams to the point of gurgling if I go out of the room! So I put her in her playpen in the sewing room (2 feet from me) for as long as she’ll stand it. About 20 min. Which is enough time for me to play with the new sewing machine (and thread it) but not enough to practice with it before I get down to business.

And here I am, drinking my morning coffee with chocolate and writing this blog instead of in the room sewing! What am I thinking! Addictions, geez. hehe

Also, an acquaintance of mine pointed out some problems with using unfermented soy anything, mainly due to the estrogen like hormones it contains before fermentation, and as she’s the mother of 3 boys, and also researches things like crazy. I decided what could it hurt to experiment a bit more with the bread flour!

So the GF experiment this time

1 cup sourdough starter
3/4 cup soy flour
3/4 cup warm water

then I let it ferment for a couple of hours, came back, and added another
3/4 cup soy flour
3/4 cup warm water

let it ferment again until almost double it’s size, and added

1 1/4 cup soy flour
1/4 cup ground flax seed meal

Covered it with a loosely woven towel and left it overnight

This morning I added

1 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup ground flax seed meal

I’m going to let it work for a couple more hours, then add in

3 cups brown rice flour (unless my flour order shows up today, in which case I will edit this blog)

or enough flour to make the mix nice and elastic and then put it into my bread pan greased with coconut oil. Let raise until it’s above the rim of the pan. Put an pan in the oven filled with water, then preheat the oven to 350. Put the bread in the oven and let cook for about 45 -60 min.

I’ll let you know what the boys think. So far though, when I put the soy flour IN the mix, it smells disgusting once more. I think the soy flour smells absolutely horrible. But after it’s been working for a few hours. The mix smells nice and yeasty, not like yucky soy flour anymore.

We also got our order in of Annie’s GF Mac and Cheese, and our order of Spiral Noodles by Tinkyada (I love them) The boys call them ‘Wacky Noodles’ because we’d been buying ‘Wacky Mac’ for years at Wal-mart So now we have Wacky Spaghetti’s and Wacky Alfredo’s. (Momma’s allergic to tomatoes) I also got Spaghetti Noodles and Cheddar Rice Snap Crackers. It was a LOT of money *sigh* but it was worth it to have that amount of food in the house. No running out, no waiting to ship.

So today, I need to drive my BF to the shop to go get his car, then follow him to the store to get a new tire. Buy a new bathing suit at the store, since we are going to Wild Adventures this weekend with all 6 of the kids (crazy, we are crazy!) It looks like the wind has died down outside so I won’t be driven crazy with pollen allergies like the last couple of days. So after we get back from the store. I’ll be splitting my time between homeschooling the boys, getting some more yard work done (I need to make the potato bed) and sewing!

I’ve got a busy day ahead of me, so I’m off!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

