Skip to content

Momma’s ‘Boo-boo Goo’

June 6, 2008

Every year, right around summer time, I make a new batch of my ‘boo-boo goo’. We refrigerate it, so yes, it does last a year. I think this is because the kids don’t want to share it with anyone but family LOL, so we use it sparingly. They don’t want to run out! But they know when I break out the ‘goo’ that the boo-boo is pretty serious, so then they get really proud of their owie in that ‘chicks dig scars’ kind of way LOL.

Every year the Goo is different, depending on what I have laying around the house, what my financial situation is (can I go buy more stuff) and what the exact time of year is (ie: what’s ready for harvesting outside) This year, I’m pretty poor, so no new stuff, and my crop of things isn’t ready for summer harvesting, and spring harvesting was poorly (weird weather). So this years Boo-boo Goo is bare bones. But I thought it was probably time, in the 10 years I’ve been making it to write down the ‘recipe’ (really, it’s a little of this, and a little of that) for posterity!

Momma’s Boo-boo Goo

1 cup solid (ie: cocoa butter, shea butter etc, you can TOTALLY mix and match, I just happened to ONLY have shea butter this time around)

1/2 cup non-solid (ie: safflower oil, coconut oil etc)

2 cups water

1 cup comfrey, dried and slightly crumbled (extreme skin healer)

Vitamin E oil. (I poke holes in capsules and poked holes until I just couldn’t stand it anymore, so about 30)(helps with skins elasticity, and healing)

1/4 cup Aloe Vera Leaves, peeled and diced, and then run through a blender (helps with healing and soothing)

Essential oil for smell (I used lavender, bergamot, and pennyroyal)

Grapefruit Seed Extract (40 drops) (anti-bacterial, anti-fungal, and preservative)

3 TB cornstarch/tapioca flour

Tea Tree Oil (anti-fungal and anti-bacterial)

6 Echinacea capsules (healer, anti-bacterial, anti-itch)

2-3 TB dried Calendula flowers (skin soother and mild healer)

Place 2 cups water in stainless steel pot, and put on low heat. Add in the comfrey, calendula and echinacea. Simmer for about 30 min.  While it’s simmering, I put the solid and non-solid fats, plus vit-E oil in a pyrex measuring cup and place it on top the simmering water/herb mixture to melt (hey, I’m multi-tasking right?). Let it sit and walk away for a while (about 15 min).

When you come back, everything should be melted. Pour your fats mixture into a glass jar (I use a wide mouth mason jar). Pour your herb/water mixture into a fine wire sieve (or a coffee filter, it’ll just take a LOT longer) to filter the water from the herbs. Squeeze out as much water as possible from the herbs, and place the water back on the stove to simmer, you want to end up with about a cup of liquid. Take about 1/4 of a cup out of the water mixture and let it cool while you are simmering it. Meanwhile, add your essential oils for smell, your grapefruit seed extract and your tea tree oil to the cooled fat mix. Now add in your blended aloe vera leaves.

Now add the 3 TB cornstarch to the 1/4 cup water, stirring vigorously to make sure it’s completely mixed in and there are no lumps. Add this water mixture, and turn up the heat until it JUST boils, then turn the heat off.  Stirring the whole time. This will make a ‘gravy’. At this point. Add the fat mixture into the water mixture and break out your hand mixer. Whirr those babies together until it starts to cool, then transfer everything to the glass jar again. The cornstarch will ensure that the fats and water don’t separate, plus making it so that the mixture isn’t long lasting greasy on your skin.

As I type this, I put some on an ouchy I had on my stomach (burnt my stomach on a cookie pan yesterday, argh) and rubbed the rest into my hands. My hands ARE NOT greasy. heheheh.

It’s goooood stuff.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 5:15 pm

    WOW. That looks fantastic!!! I’m making this for sure.

    You know… they do sell vitamin E oil in little bottles!! Lots easier than poking holes. Hahahaha! (I just bought some a couple of nights ago!)

    About the echinacea, is the kind you use a liquid-filled capsule as well?

    And this fits into a quart jar?

    Thanks so much for posting this!

  2. July 16, 2009 7:34 pm

    The problem with buying the vit. E oil in a small jar is that it’s cut with some sort of oil. I’d prefer to just go straight to the real stuff and know what I’m getting LOL!
    The echinacea is the powdered kind in the capsule, since it’s in the water, and you are filtering it after a while, it should be fine. You could also grow the plant or buy the plant (I’ll probably grow it eventually, someday LOL)
    And yes, it all fits into a quart jar and you are very welcome!

Leave a Reply

