Skip to content

Gluten-free Flour Blend and Bread Recipe

August 20, 2008

I wanted to create my ‘perfect’ mix of flour blends. The flours that I normally keep around the house. The flours that taste most ‘normal’ to our previously gluten-eating taste buds. These are also all flours that I can find LOCALLY and not have to order off the internet (unlike teff, montina, brown rice flour etc)

I also wanted to put it here for saving purposes since I’ve got it written on freezer tape on the flour container currently. As I was changing my mix around, I’d peel off one strip of freezer tape, add or subtract a flour and change the strip of freezer tape for that particular

So here we go:

Meredith’s Flour Mix

2 cups Mochiko (or sweet rice flour, it’s like tapioca flour in texture) (I found this at the commisary in Mochiko as well as Publix and as sweet rice flour at the local Asian store)

2 cups Cassava flour (local Asian store)

7 cups Brown or White Rice flour (local grocery and Asian store)

4 cups Sorghum Flour (local grocery)

1 cup Quinoa flour (very high protein)(ordered from Amazon)

1/4 cup ground flax seed flour (local grocery)

So far we’ve tried this in :

Butter cookies

Snickerdoodles (cookies)

Boys Brown muffins (recipe I invented that the boys loooooove and use for ‘muffin math’ a lot)

Loaf of bread

biscuits

pie crust

It’s turned out beautifully in everything. I added more sorghum flour for the pie crust though, since the sorghum flour seems to make things a bit more crumbly and flaky.

Also – here’s a bread recipe that works well with this mix:

4 cups flour mix

1/2 tsp xanthum gum or equivalent of guar gum (I have no experience with it, you’ll have to look it up)

1 packet unflavored gelatin

1 packet bread yeast or 2 1/4 tsps of yeast

2 TB powdered milk

1 TB brown sugar

1/4 cup oil/melted shortening/melted butter

2 large eggs

1 1/2 to 2 cups water

Place 1 1/2 cups water and all wet ingredients in your bread machine. Add all dry ingredients, yeast last. Put machine on ‘dough’ setting, standby and watch, you will occasionally need to scrape the mix off the sides. Bread dough should be the consistency brownie or cornbread batter. Thicker than muffins, and extremely sticky, but NOT smooth and elastic like gluten bread.

Remove dough from bread machine, place in a well greased bread pan, wet your hands and smooth the top, and let rise until it’s doubled, usually about 30-40 min. Don’t let it rise over the top of the pan, gluten free bread does not rise as high as gluten bread and it WILL collapse and end up gooey in the middle. When it’s doubled in size place in oven that has been preheated to 350 degrees and let cook for aproximately one hour. The knife/toothpick test will work for gf bread too. Let cool for at least 20 minutes before removing from pan (collapsing and gooey middle) and let cool for another hour before cutting (collapsing and gooey middle) Use a VERY sharp knife to cut the bread.

Note: like most gluten free breads, this one is either best warm and fresh out of the oven, or toasted/grilled. Cold it’s crumbly in texture/mouth and in your hands.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2008 7:26 am

    This looks like a great recipe, and I will try it! I was surfing around, looking at posts that mention homeschooling and math, and found your blog. You sound like a cool mom. I think your homeschooling endeavors sound great, and your kids are lucky (and have cool names!)

    The reason I troll for homeshool/math blogs is that I have a math site that is dedicated to helping kids with math in non-traditional, yet “not-flakey” ways. It’s MathMojo.com. Check it out – you might find some things to use and inspire your kids with there.

    Coincidentally, I have gone “gluten-free” over the last few months, have already lost 15 lbs. and feel great, so I’ll be back here looking for food inspiration. I don’t really cook, but want to learn some of this stuff to take some pressure off my wife, who works too hard at the moment to have do all the “new” cooking for me.

    So thanks for the post!

    Brian (a.k.a. Professor Homunculus at MathMojo.com )

  2. August 22, 2008 7:29 am

    P.S. Since I don’t actually know what to DO with flour, could you post your “math muffin” recipe? I’d love to try it. I’ve subscribed to your blog via RSS, and can’t wait to read more.

    Brian

  3. Michelle mommy to 7 permalink
    December 8, 2008 7:45 pm

    OMGOSH this is the best flour blend I have tried yet.
    I made blueberry muffins with it and they are to die for. Even better then wheat ones in my opinion.
    I had to do 1/2 white rice and 1/2 brown rice for the rice flour.
    it is nice to know you get some healthy stuff in GF flours. This is much healthier then the usual white rice, tapioca and corn starch blends. THANK YOU MEREDITH. this makes my day and my baking soooo much easier now.
    I will be making a few batches of this blend and putting it in the fridge? any idea how long it will stay good for without the fridge?

  4. spiralowlcreations permalink*
    December 9, 2008 7:05 am

    I generally go through all of this in a little under a month, but I have six kids LOL, so it’s pretty easy to go through 12 muffins and a loaf of bread in one day!
    So usually I’ve got the mix in a large container with an air tight lid sitting on the counter right where I usually mix the food at. I’ve recently started taking my base muffin recipe (say 2.5 cups quadrupled) then adding the equivilant amount ofshortening needed, plus spices and sugar, mixing it until it’s reallly crumbly, then putting it in the freezer. This way I can take it out in the morning with my morning coffee and in an hour when I’m more awake, I can start on the days muffins. It also works pretty well as the base recipe for pancakes or waffles. I’ll have to experiment though to get exact dimensions.

  5. September 29, 2009 9:21 am

    Aren’t tapioca flour and cassava flour the same thing? If not, what’s the difference?

  6. September 29, 2009 10:18 am

    The Cassava flour I get from my local Asian food store doesn’t look anything like Tapioca, it’s an off white color and not so fine and powdery. It’s texture is honestly more like wheat flour. I believe that Tapioca and Cassava are all originally from the same plant, but, like corn meal and corn starch, are two different things.

Trackbacks

  1. SparkPeople and birthdays « Spiral Owl’s Create-it Blog
  2. My GF Bread vs: Pamela’s Bread Mix « Spiral Owl’s Create-it Blog

Leave a Reply

