Skip to content

Moist Muffins For The Win!!

August 21, 2008

So the boys and I have something we call ‘Muffin Math’

Where we make various flour blends (and try to remember not to get too excited and write them down LOL)

and then use our math skills to make muffins (mostly muffins, sometimes it’s cookies or bread/pizza/bun dough)

So when the boys ask ‘Is it a muffin math day mom?’ and leap around yelling Hooray! Yay! you know they are good muffins.

This year I’ve decided to get a lot more strict on my little bit of this, little bit of that cooking style around the children. I’m not teaching them the life skills they need when they are on their own with that sort of thing. Well, ok, my 14 cooks like that now, but a 9 and 7 yo need basic skills before they go to advanced you know?

So Monday we sat down. We took some lined paper and a pen, along with clear paper protectors for a binder, and got to writing down all the things we need to make muffins, then drew pictures next to them (helpful reminder for Owyn, who can read, but not the big words yet, plus Kaia who will be helping in a couple of years)

Then we made a list of ingredients for our most perfect of muffins, the ones that ALWAYS turn out perfectly moist, always make our taste buds sing, even our gluten-eating buddies that come over look at us with pleading eyes when they see these cooling on the stove LOL

Monday, I helped the boys, we went through the list together, Ian and I discussed with Owyn the difference between 1/4 a cup and 1/2 a cup. A lot of pictures were drawn LOL. Funny, that Ian can’t remember how to say one fourth, he instead says one slash four, but Owyn remembers the proper terms. They make a good team.

Anyways, yesterday, they decided they wanted to do Muffin Math all by themselves! I had Ian turn on the oven with my supervision, and then turned them loose. The only mistake Ian made was in using 2 and a half cups of THE ONE HALF CUP measuring cup, instead of 2 cups whole cups and then the half cup. We discussed this, he felt stupid, but I don’t think he’ll make that mistake again. (this makes me feel like I haven’t been doing all that great of a job, since he’s been cooking since he was 7, so making an elementary mistake like that means I’ve been taking over to much for him)

But all together, I helped them with turning the oven on, spooning the mix into the muffin pan, and placing it in the oven (oh and the flour in the proper amount) and they turned out WONDERFUL.

Once again, 12 muffins, GONE.

So here’s the recipe, I use the flour mix in my previous post, if I used brown rice flour versus white rice flour they’d be healthier, but with the flax seed and quinoa flour, both high in the good stuff (good fats, protein and fiber) I try to tell myself it balances out the shortening right??

The Boys Brown Muffins

Preheat the Oven to 350. Grease the Muffin Tin.

In mixing bowl, place all of these ingredients:

1 Stick of Shortening

1 cup of brown sugar – packed

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup mollasses

Now use the beater until all the way mixed up and they look creamy.

Now add into the bowl:

2 1/2 cups GF flour mix

1 cup raisins

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp cardamom

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp xanthum gum

1/2 cups flakes (we use quinoa flakes, but gf oats would work just as well)

1 cup water

Mix this with the beaters, using a spatula to scrape the sides down, for 2-3 minutes.

Use a 1/2 cup measuring cup and use that to scoop the mix into 12 muffin holes on the muffin tin. Fill the muffin holes almost all the way, then place in the oven for aprox. 20 min.

These don’t rise super high, but they have a great moist cake consistency, are somewhat crumbly, but not the normal fall apart like other GF muffins are, and when my 1 year old squishes hers between her chubby little hands, they compress and stay together, like gluten bread does!

I’m going to experiment with adding zucchini and carrots (as soon as my zucchini are ready in my garden!) and using a cream cheese icing on top and see how they do for carrot cake (Pretty well I’m guessing)

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2008 9:32 am

    Hi, Brian again.
    Didn’t realize that you’d already posted this great recipe. I’m going out to get the ingredients today (if I can find them in our little burg)..Hotcha~

    ~ B

Leave a Reply

