Skip to content

Mexican Spaghetti

August 25, 2008

I’ve been having a hard few days medically, and my family knows it. They also know that I tend to want to do certain things myself, maybe with a *little* help from them. But I’ll do them myself unless I’m really just feeling horrible.

I took a loooooong nap yesterday, and when I awoke and sat my zombie-like self on the couch. My 9 and 7 year old came along like bookends to cuddle the momma. We sat there like that for a while. Just enjoying each others company, when my 9 yo asked if I could make dinner that he picked. I told him, ‘sure, within reason, no deep fried ice cream for instance’. He laughed and told me he wanted Spaghetti Taco’s. Spaghetti Taco’s!? says I. Hmmmmm. My brain whirling with all sorts of possibilities. I really don’t feel well. But boiling water, hmmm, I’ve already got 2 lbs of hamburger cooked and waiting in the freezer… Ok, lets do it I think!

I cook it in stages, and I shared my large bowl with the baby (greedy thing) my boys all had 2nds, and would have eaten thirds I think if there’d been any left.  Morgan ate her’s slowly and with obvious relish, which is nice to see in a 14 yo!

My problem with recipes for other people is I tend to make TOO MUCH. Always. If we don’t eat it all, it’s lunch for my honey the next day. Or it’s lunch for the kids and I. OR it ends up on leftover night. Usually Friday. So My amounts are aprox. and keep in mind that I currently have 2 adults  1 teenager, 2 growing boys, and a very hungry toddler, so we can eat a LOT around here. Those of you with only 2-4 normal people to feed might want to half my recipe LOL

Mexican Spaghetti

  • 2 lbs ground beef
  • 1/2 diced onion (we use red, they are sweeter!)
  • 2 diced bell peppers
  • 1 can enchilada sauce (we like the green better)
  • 1 can diced green chili’s
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp powdered garlic or 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp chili
  • 1/4 tsp basil
  • 1 package spaghetti
  • grated Mexican cheese or Mozzarella cheese
  • sour cream

Put water on to boil for spaghetti.

Cook hamburger, when cooked, drain grease if needed. Add in diced onions, green chilis and spices. When onions are almost clear, put the can of enchilada sauce in the meat mix and then the bell peppers. Let simmer for about 5 min, then turn off and remove from heat. You want the bell peppers to still retain some of their crispness.

When spaghetti is done to your taste (we prefer al dente and Tinkyada brown rice with bran pasta). Mix it in with the meat sauce.

Serve in bowls with cheese grated on top, and a large spoonful of sour cream. Mix the sour cream in before eating (it’s REALLY good with the sour cream, and just good without it)

Come to find out what my 9yo meant was making my regular spaghetti sauce and serving it with noodles cut small in crunchy corn tortillas. Maybe tonight huh?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2008 5:50 pm

    That sounds like a GREAT recipe! You’ve inspired me. I’m going to have to try that!

Trackbacks

  1. Monthly Menu (planner) « Spiral Owl’s Create-it blog

Leave a Reply

