Skip to content

Pajama Pants Here I Come?

December 6, 2008

Yesterday I did 6 loads of laundry (it adds up when children come back from dads, wet the bed, help cook and we have house guests *sigh*) I freecycled 3 more bags of the donated yard sale stuff clogging my garage. I cooked 2 batches of muffins. Apricot pumpkin in the gluten section and Pumpkin/golden raisin/sunflower seed in the GF side. Kaia’s teething and working on tooth #7 (how silly is THAT in a 16 month old!) so she was pretty awful yesterday (and it looks like today as well since she’s been up since 5:30)

I did dishes, I swept, I mopped, I vacuumed. I directed room cleaning for the boys. I folded and put away Kaia’s clothes. I hung out maternity clothes on the clothesline to help rid them of the cigarrette smell (donated again) because they are being picked up today.

Basically, what it boils down to is I don’t feel like I can craft unless my house is clean. Unless I don’t have any chores standing between me and crafting. Which is silly. But understandable when you consider how much my sewing/crafting stuff is taking over my bedroom. It’s a MESS. Material leftover after my 14 yo volunteered me to a couple of her friends in anime club. Material left over from 5 children and a honey needing Halloween outfits. Child #6 didn’t end up getting a hand sewn outfit as her behaviour was SO bad I simply was not going to reward her hideous behaviour with lots of effort on my part to make her something beautiful. I’m always going to regret seeing all the other children shine as we walked down the street, and my 2nd oldest wearing regular clothes and holding a wand.

Anyways….

Because my bedroom and my sewing room are one and the same now (baby needed her own room, and now step-daughters share a room with her, yes, we need a bigger house) I have enough SPACE, I just don’t have the organizational skills to make it better. I can’t FIND my stuff. If I want to sew diapers. Well, most of the stuff is in a couple of canvas boxes. But not all of it. Where is the velcro? Where’s the material that I wanted to use to cover the diapers? Ditto for almost everything. I’ve got lots of ideas on how to organize the craft room. But most of it involves money I do not have to create organizational shelves and such. I really really really need to find a way to create simplicity from chaos because it is seriously cutting into my creative life. The thought of having to dig through my closets to find a specific something or other just makes me crazy. Thus the ‘it has to be clean, before I can go do fun stuff’ my head says.

I was bad before, with the ‘the laundry hasn’t been started, go start it THEN you can sew.’ But now, with the serious sewing room mess, I feel like I shouldn’t be creating, I should be cleaning and organizing. Honestly. I know I need help. But I don’t know where to turn. How do you ask a friend to come dig in your stuff and order you around?? LOL.

So I’m going to put my sewing list here, and hopefully it will give me the kick in the rear I need to get in gear and quit CLEANING.

  • 10 pairs pj pants
  • 8 cotton scrub tops
  • stocking for Hobbes
  • stocking for Ian
  • stocking for Owyn
  • stocking for Freya
  • stocking for Danyca
  • stocking for Kaia
  • 2 hand potholders
  • 2 square potholders
  • 10 napkins
  • 2 hand towels (patchwork)
  • 6 more handprints on the tree skirt and then bind it.
  • 1 kitchen curtain (patchwork)
  • 3 pairs boxers
  • 2 rice bags plus 2 covers w/ buttons

So you can see. I have a lot to do. If I continue on this path I’m on. I’m going to end up doing it RIGHT before Christmas and making myself sick with overwork LOL.

So, TODAY I am cutting things out. Yes folks, that’s right. Cutting stuff out! hehehe.

Of course, that involves cleaning off the kitchen table and washing it (horse/dog knocked over plants in the kitchen last night to my dismay) but that’s just one thing right? Surely I won’t turn it into 20?

Anyone else have this issue? I feel so silly when I see people popping stuff out daily. And I *know* I could as well, but my ‘work comes before play’ gets in my way everytime. Even though I *know* sewing isn’t play. I enjoy it, therefore it IS.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 6, 2008 1:06 pm

    meredith, you’re one of the winners. come check it out!

Leave a Reply

