Skip to content

Oh my New Sewing Machine

December 7, 2008

So, I DID IT!!

I cut out most of what I needed to cut out yesterday.

that would be.

  • Morgan’s pj pants
  • Ian’s pj shorts (they changed their mind)
  • Owyn’s pj shorts
  • Danyca’s pj shorts
  • Danyca’s pj tank top
  • Freya’s pj shorts
  • Freya’s pj tank top
  • 3 Kaia reversible pants (need to cut out 3 matching pieces now)
  • 1 Kaia tank top dress
  • 1 Kaia reversible skirt (need to cut out other side and matching trim now)
  • 1 curtain for Brianna

I honestly went on to sew. I was going to mess around on my new machine a bit (an early 70’s Kenmore with it’s own table) that was given to me by a friend. I sat down at it, fiddled with learning to thread it, etc. And discovered that I just CANNOT figure out how to get it to sew a straight line. I can’t believe it, it’s so dorky I just laughed at myself. So I hunted online to find a manual for it (158.14101) found it, paid for it with paypal, then discovered I’d clicked the wrong darn link. Paid for the wrong darn manual. And now I need to wait for Monday to contact customer support (though I AM going to try today) to ask if they would switch me with the manual that I can acutally use LOL.

rolls eyes

So I guess I’m going to cut out some more stuff today. I need to cut out

  • Morgan’s flannel pj pants
  • Ian’s flannel pj pants
  • Owyn’s flannel pj pants
  • Freya’s flannel pj dress
  • Danyca’s flannel pj dress
  • figure out what to use the left over material on for Kaia
  • 6 Stockings (green plaid with green strips for the top + Hobbes)

Soooo, I’m off to fiddle with the darn sewing machine again. Maybe see if I can figure out that bottom serger needle that is causing my other serger needles to bust (or find the book to help me fix it alternately) If I can’t sew. I guess I’ll have to clean *sigh* I’ll work on my room! Organization! yeah, that’s the ticket!

Heh.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Esther permalink
    November 3, 2010 9:36 pm

    Did you ever get your sewing machine to work? I just inherited the exact same model. I thought I might get some new belts and a new foot control for it from an online store. Did you ever get the correct manual?

  2. November 3, 2010 9:40 pm

    Actually I did get it to work and it’s my go to machine now! I absolutely love it and am thankful everytime I sit down to use it that my friend gave it to me! It’s SO much better than that plastic crud they churn out nowadays that lasts a couple of years!

  3. Esther permalink
    November 3, 2010 9:46 pm

    Wow, that’s great to hear! This machine was still working over the summer and I’m assuming it still is now. I feel like I should buy whatever parts I can since they seem to be still available – according to quick google search the other day – and they might not be available for much longer.

    I’ve been using a Singer that I bought from Target a couple of years ago and as my sewing skills improved the poor stitch quality has reallys tarted to annoy me! I used the Kenmore a few times about 20 years ago when I was in high school. I hope I still remember how to thread it and all.

    Were you able to get a manual or were you fine without one?

  4. Esther permalink
    November 3, 2010 9:47 pm

    One more question – what kind of oil do you use and where do you need to oil it? Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

