Skip to content

Sew Straight plus Seafood Chowder

December 7, 2008

I figured out how to change the sewing machine over to straight lines!

yayayayayaya!!

I mean, I really appreciate the fact that it’s got a bunch of cool stitches, but I really just wanted straight you know?

And it’s been so long since I’ve sewn anything without my serger (almost 2 years) right at hand. That I had completely forgotten about ironing things! Silly me. So now the iron is set up in the kitchen. I’m LOVING my new iron. I can leave my fingers right in front of it, holding down a fold and the steam doesn’t burn me! So nice!

So now, I’ve got done except for adding in the elastic:

  • Morgans’ flame pj pants
  • Ian’s pj shorts
  • Owyn’s pj shorts

I’m working on the rest, since we needed lunch, I threw some seafood chowder together. What’s that? The recipe? (you can omit the tuna for just plain ol’ clam chowder)

Ok,

  • 1 can clams
  • 1 can tuna (or another can of clams)
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 4 cups milk
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 4 medium/large potatoes
  • instant mashed potatoes

Take potatoes, poke holes in them, and toss them in the microwave for 6 min. When they ding, turn them over and turn back on for another 6 min. They should be done at this point. But some microwaves are more powerful, and others less so. So your minutes may vary.

All liquids in a pot. Add in both cans of meat (juice and all), thinly slice butter and toss that in, then all the spices. Simmer on low just till hot, dice up the baked potatoes, add into the pot. Simmer about another 10 minutes. Mash the potatoes up a bit, then add in just enough instant mashed potatoes until thick and creamy. Toss in the frozen corn (it adds flavor and the frozen aspect cools it off enough to eat immediately) stir well, then spoon into bowls and serve.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 8, 2008 10:15 am

    Seafood Chowder you just throw together? Yum!!! I’m going to have to try this.

Leave a Reply

