Skip to content

GF Crock-Pot Pot Roast

December 9, 2008

Normally, when I cook, I love to make sure that there are lots of textures, colors and flavors. I really have some sort of ‘thing’ where eating should be an experience. It’s something we do everyday, why make it just about vitamins and energy, when it could be nourishment for all of your senses, and not just your body?

Unfortunately, when my honey and I first got together, there were a lot of hurt feelings on my part, and a lot of bewildered confusion on his part, because he didn’t know what he’d done to upset me, but he didn’t want to repeat it.

We’ve finally reached a spot where both of us get what we need, and the kids get what they want as well (that is, Mommas True Cooking). But occasionally, I need to do what my honey likes as well. Which is simple food, man’s food. Meat and potatoes food. The flavors are less complex, as is the texture and colors, but it’s still good for all that.

I needed to learn that less complex didn’t necessarily equal bland and tasteless. And he needed to learn to have an open mind about food from different countries. He needed to learn that eating when it’s dinner time is important to me. Eating as a family brings us all together and helps us bring our day to a close as a family unit. Not eating when the others are eating, and just having a bowl whenever and ralphing it down in the kitchen standing up, gave me the impression that he didn’t really want to eat the food, was forcing himself to eat the food, and was only eating when he got really hungry. Plus it was cold and congealed by that point. I’ve learned however, that if it’s hot outside, well, I’d better prepare food that’s best served cold, or put his food in the refrigerator because he’s not going to eat it hot. He simply can’t.

So dinner time isn’t a battleground anymore (well, not much, there’s the usual battles over manners with 6 kids) And we can all sit down in our really long kitchen, with 2 tables pushed up together and enjoy our family over a colorful dining experience. Mostly. Sometimes, like yesterday, I knew my honey had had a rough day. I had lots of errands to run, groceries, helping an older friend of ours to a Docs appt about 30 min away. Picking up step-daughters from bus stop. Stuff like that. So I gave my crockpot the job of cooking dinner for us. I also took this opportunity to satisfy my honeys taste for simple food. Just a few ingredients, no overwhelming, strong flavors, plus meat and potatoes.

CrockPot Pot Roast

  • 1 pot roast (appropriate size for your family)
  • 1 potato for each family member
  • 4 cups of cream of mushroom soup (click link for GF readers)
  • 1 tsp worcheshire sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste

Place in crock pot, cream of mushroom soup and worsheshire sauce, stir together. Then place  roast in crock pot. Slice potatoes thinly and place all around roast.  Lightly salt and pepper. Leave in pot for about 6 hours on high.

When nearing doneness, remove roast from pot and place in fridge to cool. Add into pot

  • 1 cup frozen peas or 1 can of peas
  • 1 tsp basil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/8 tsp sage
  • 1/4 cup cold milk mixed with 2 TB cornstarch/tapioca starch/mochiko

Stir together. Take roast out of fridge, dice it up, and place back into crockpot. Stir well. It should have thickened up by now. Turn off the crockpot. Spoon out dinner into bowls, let cool (it will thicken more as it cools) and serve.

I got a lot of rave reviews, from both the picky kids and the picky honey. My oldest (who cooks most like me) and a friend we had over for dinner (who eats my kind of cooking) both said it needed more spices, but was other wise pretty good. (but they both had seconds LOL)

This is part of my Monthly Menu, which you can find Here

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

