Skip to content

GF Shredded Crockpot Pork and Taquito Filling

January 26, 2009

So the other day I was at my local grocery store and saw that they were advertising pork shoulder for .89 cents a pound. Its prices like this that I tend to go OH BOY! and buy enough for a couple of dinners.
This one I bought JUST small enough that it’d fit in my crockpot (I think it’s an 8 qt)
I placed the pork shoulder, bone and all, in the crockpot around 11am, with 2 cups of water, put my slow cooker on med (mine has warm, med and high) poked at it occasionally, stirred it up when it started falling apart, and generally just made sure it didn’t dry out. (and of course sampled from time to time just to make sure no one was going to get food poisoning right? LOL)
The next day I took the pork shoulder out, cut it the rest of the way off the bone, finished cutting it into smaller pieces and shredding it and put half of it back in the crockpot with my favorite bbq sauce.
The rest I put aside for the moment.

Taquito Filling

For the taquitos you will need

1 can diced green chilis (usually it’s 1/4th of the size of a regular can)
1 can enchilada sauce (I like green or red)
1 small onion
1 can tomato paste
1 1/2 tsp cumin
1 tsp garlic powder
1/8th tsp paprika
chili powder and chili seeds to taste (more for hotter filling)
1 TB oil

Put all the ingredients in the crockpot and let cook on high for about 4 hours. Mixing occasionally. When it’s fully cooked and shredded, you can take the whole thing out and put it in a bowl, then place it in the fridge for an hour. In this way you can easily remove the grease. Or, like me, you could add 3 TB of cornstarch into 1/5 TB of water, stir throughly, then add to the meat mixture.

To make taquitos (at least how I do it) first you must get the corn tortilla’s softened. In my experience, if you don’t at least soften them by cooking them in oil for a minute they will crack and break on you. Steaming them is fine for using them as a form of bread, but to roll them for taquitos, you’ll have to fry them momentarily in oil. Also in my experience, coconut oil seems to leave the least amount of fatty grease behind.
So, best use of tortilla’s, fry one, then add filling to it, and roll up, placing seam side down on a metal cookie sheet (or something that can be placed in the oven) continue until you are out of filling, then put in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes.

I serve ours with sour cream and guacamole. (mmmmmm) and a side dish of refried beans, rice cooked in tomato and chicken (tomate y pollo) boullion and sprinkled with cheese, or a side salad. The kids LOVE taquito night LOL!

Leave a Reply

