Skip to content

Healthy GF Pudding?

January 31, 2009

I have been SO sick this week. I haven’t been this sick in a long time. Between getting glutened a couple of weeks ago, then the tendon issues, THEN this throat/flu thing. Man.

Also in the bad news. We are poooooor. Lucky I’m a firm believer in having a stocked pantry and extras of all essentials.

So here I am, with a throat that will not permit me to eat anything but will slide all slippery like down my throat. A honey who barely knows the basics of cooking, and it’s not like we can just run out to the store and get gatoraide and healthy food that will slide down my throat. So what did we do? Well even sick as I was, I used my imagination, gave instructions (sometimes in sign language), so this post and the next will be GF food a sick person can slurp down.

Now the ? on Healthy is because this isn’t just sugar, flavor and cornstarch, I needed the fat and protein in the butter, because until this point it’d been Bouillon and very watery Cream of Rice cereal for 2 days. So pretty much I was trying to create something that had good fats, good protiens, slurped well, and had some flavor to it (they were eating peach cobbler! sniff) and at this point, a little teeny coffee pick me up was greatly appreciate, plus a girl needs her chocolate when she’s been ill right?

Abulita Hot Chocolate

Abulita Hot Chocolate

Healthy(?) GF Pudding with a Mexican Chocolate Flair

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 stick butter
  • 3 TB dark brown sugar
  • 1 TB coffee
  • 1 TB unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch cardamom
  • 4 TB cornstarch (2 TB if you are using GF flour) and probably 3 if using Arrowroot flour
  • 1 3/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup milk

Melt butter in saucepan, stir in brown sugar, and let it melt together, take off heat and let sit for a few moments while you gather the rest of the ingredients. Add in the two eggs and whisk together well. Put back on low heat, add in the cocoa,  1 3/4 milk, coffee, cinnamon and cardamom. Take the 1/4 cup milk and mix in the cornstarch until there are no lumps. Now add to the pudding mixture. Turn up the heat to medium and whisk until it starts  to boil (keep whisking or the milk will burn to the bottom). Make sure to scrape the sides of the pan well or you end up with cornstarch/egg lumps in the corners of the pan. When the mixture starts to boil, place it in the dish you intend to serve it from (in my case a bunch of soup mugs) and let it cool in the fridge.

The taste is very close to Abulita’s Chocolate in coffee. Mmmmm, that takes me back!

My mix was just a little runny, but I only put in about 3 TB of cornstarch. (and I was still pretty weak and silly)

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 10:44 am

    Hi, interesting post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for blogging. I’ll certainly be coming back to your site. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

