Skip to content

All About My Fabric Stash

February 5, 2009

Sew, Mama, Sew wrote in their blog yesterday:

We started a new Fabric Stash & Storage group on Flickr. You can also answer any or all of the questions below on your blog. Once you post, come back and add the link in the box below for easy browsing (we’re trying something new!):

Here’s a picture of just some of my stash…

  • What do you usually sew?

Usually I sew children’s clothing. Lots of dresses, skirts, pj’s and pants. I also sew garb, usually in the form of kilts, tunics, and most women’s garb. I also do the occasional quilt, children and baby bedding, pillows, curtains, potholders, jackets, bags, and all the normal clothes repair 6 children can hand you.

  • When you shop for fabric, what size cuts do you usually buy? (i.e. If you see something beautiful, but you don’t have a use for it right away, how much do you buy?)

Since I’m usually sewing clothing, not quilts, I buy in 1.5 yard increments, that way I can be sure I’ve got enough for any dress or pair of pants for whatever child (and scraps to go in the quilting bag)

  • Do you buy on impulse or do you go out looking for something you need?

After my stash started taking over, I quit impulse buying, and made myself a promise NOT to buy anymore fabric unless I was going to use it for something specific immediately. I *do* however, sometimes buy flat sheets in beautiful colors and high thread count if I can find them at Goodwill. Lots of fabric for very little money.

  • Are you a pre-washer? If you are, do you wash your fabric before you need it, or only when you’re ready to use it?

I’m a pre-washer. The smell of the sizing gives me a headache and all my fabric is stored in my bedroom!

  • Do you iron it?

I iron it when I’m ready to use it.

  • How do you sort it? (color, print size, collection, etc.)

I sort them by color, except for the plaids, they have their own section LOL

  • Do you have any special folding techniques?

Because I store them in metal cubicles, I need to fold my fabric to fit in there specifically,  usually 10 x 10 squares and I’ve just developed an automatic folding technique for that over the years LOL

  • How do you store your fabric?

I bought wire metal grids that pop together with plastic connectors like here at Sams club years ago. Right now they are 6 cubes high I believe and 3 wide. This way I can SEE all my fabric which enables me to get a creative buzz from looking at the different designs and colors. Plus it’s stored conviently, effeciently, and in a fairly small area.

  • What tips do you have for building up a well-rounded stash?

I’m a bad person to ask this LOL

  • When do you say enough is enough?

When I have more fabric than I know what to do with. Money is tight and I can’t be spending it on things I’m not using, or that aren’t going to make money.

  • What are some of your favorite stash-busting projects?

Reversible pants and skirts for babies and toddlers.  They are so fast and simple to sew, don’t take massive amounts of fabric (often they are the scraps leftover from sewing something for the bigger kids). Also pj’s, the kids constantly need them, and as it’s hot around here most of the time, a small amount of fabric is needed for a pair of shorts!

  • Do you have a current favorite print in your stash? Let’s see it!

Honestly, I have too many a brown batik with turquoise spirals (and the matching turquoise with brown spirals) this bronze taffteta I’ve only got about 1/4th a yard of. This copper velvet I’ve had since I was about 16 that I can’t use till I find the PERFECT project for it.

Leave a Reply

