Skip to content

“Cup Cakes”

May 17, 2009

A few months ago, on the Silly Yaks list I’m on, on yahoogroups. Someone posted about a cake in a cup they’d made.

Earlier today I was whining to myself (well ok, my honey too in passing) how I wanted brownies, or cake, or chocolate chip cookies or SOMETHING sweet, rich and chocolaty!
So I’m putting up the coffee cups after the younger kids have gone to bed, and I have this recipeĀ  kind of tap dance through my head.
Of Course I have to try it. And of Course I had to mess with the recipe LOL! I’m that kind of girl.

Just so you know, the older kids who were washing dishes have pronounced this ‘chocolately coffee goodness in a cup’ and ‘we’re definitely keeping this recipe!’
So kid tested and approved (and it’s with gluten free flours hahahaha)

Spiral Owls Cake-in-a-Cup

4 TB flour (my mix worked very well)
4 TB sugar
2 TB unsweetened cocoa
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp xanthum gum (if this is GF)
1 tsp instant coffee granules

mix together well, then add

2 eggs

Mix well again, then add

1 TB oil
1/2 tsp vanilla
3 TB milk, cream or milk substitute

mix well, then microwave on high for 3 min. Watch it, it’s an awesome display of science in your microwave, the kids and I were fascinated!

It’s really good! Very rich, chocolately, it has filled my craving to completion. It’s a very moist cake, almost custardy (which is a plus in my book from dry, crumbly cakes you mostly get with GF flours)

Cake Rising in the Microwave

Cake Rising in the Microwave

Chocolaty Goodness Wafting Up

Chocolaty Goodness Wafting Up

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

