Skip to content

Food Review – Amy’s Tamale Verde

June 18, 2009

Since the last time I was online, there have been some changes in my life, some good, some bad, and some are just temporary.

One of those changes for the better is receiving foodstamps. I’m not very happy with needing them. And I’m not happy to get them, but at the same time, I’m deliriously happy that because of our income and the amount of people we having living in our home, we get about 300-400 more a month that what I was paying for in cash. This means many many more fresh fruits and veggies, and it means a lot more healthy gluten-free foods for me.

So I’ve been trying some of the Gluten-Free foods available at my local Publix and Wal-Mart.

amy+-+tamale+verde

Todays Gluten Free Food Review is brought to you by Amy’s Tamale Verde

I should start off by telling you that I grew up all over California, and some of my best friends mother’s barely spoke English and fed me home made frijoles and tortilla’s. My grandmother exhanged her ginger cookie recipe for my bf’s mom’s tamale recipe. So I’m pretty aware of what a real tamale should taste like and what is Americanized and what is Tex-Mex.

This one is between Authentic and Tex-Mex and it’s awesome. The whole thing was moist, delicious, and FILLING, the serving size was actually just a little too large for me. A nice change from those frozen meals that are more like snacks, or are SO huge they don’t help me in the constant battle to maintain a healthy weight. It was attractively packaged, and the actual items inside looked good before I even stuck them in the microwave. Again, unlike a lot of home-fast foods on the market today.

I’m acutally looking for a recipe online to see if I can try to replicate this at least a bit so I can share it with my family. I will most definitely be buying this brand and this particular item again. I was very pleased!

Cons were that the sauce tended to migrate to the beans, but as I’m a food mixer, not such a big con for me. The spanish rice was a little bland, as was the tamale. Also, not a big deal, since this is fast food, not MY food. Also, the tamale is much flatter and less fat/round as appearing on the box. So if you are expecting seriously authentic Mexican Food with lots of flavor. This isn’t it. But if you are ok with semi-authentic and good flavour, texture and filling, then go for it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

