Skip to content

Squash, Chickens, and a B-day Party

June 19, 2009

I’ve been having a really hard time getting my squash in. I’ve got about 20 pumpkin plants in, maybe more, but it’s hard to tell (my daughter left her pumpkin on the porch after halloween and it slimed down to the flower bed LOL and I dug them up)

Now remember, I’m in Southern Georgia, some of my friends are already harvesting cucumber, zuccini and summer squash.

However, the cantalope, cucumbers, watermelon, yellow squash, spaghetti squash, loofah gourds and various exotics aren’t in the ground yet. I’ve got one watermelon in, 4 zucchini, 6 spaghetti squash.

I’ve probably got about 24 more plants to plant and it’s HARD going. Our dirt is pure sand honestly. So I have to modify the dirt as I go along. Our compost is extremely nitrogen rich. I didn’t know that my honey had added our whole stash of goat poo to the compost tumbler, so I need to cut each handful of compost with sand otherwise it burns the plants (much to my dismay upon first finding this out) Plus the sand is extrememly compacted, there are some leftover weeds, and it is HOT HOT HOT outside. I’m dripping sweat and soaked to the skin after barely an hour (and all before 10am)

So everyday I try to get 4-6 in depending upon what my energy level is like. It’s slow going and makes me very frustrated that I’m not getting enough done.

I try to be easy on myself, but some days it’s hard when I look at where I am in reality, and where my brain says I should be.

Also disappointing today was the girls handling of their responsibilities. Normally the boys take care of feeding and watering the chickens, but the girls will be doing it for the summer. Today is the 3rd time that I’ve gone out there and found at least one of the chicken tractors without water. My honey is maintaining it was an accident. But I’m adding stuff up in my head and it all adds up to an accident with uncaring neglect. Not just careless – but uncaring.  They are my step-daughters, and I love them dearly, but they aren’t being raised full-time by us, and their mother, well, their mother doesn’t have the same sort of values we do. And it’s hard.

Also on today’s list is my one of my best friends son’s b-day party. He’s turning 12, and is currently ensconced on my floor watching CSI with the girls. His mom wants him out of the house while they decorate, wrap and other b-day type stuff…

I’ve got a whole chicken in the crockpot. I’ve got one of those cool ones that has a pressure seal. So the bones get really soft and I can feed them to my cat and dog. The rest of the chicken is hopefully going to be made into chicken verde tamales. I have to run to the store to pick up some corn husks and hopefully tomorrow we will be having some yummy chicken verde tamales. I’ll post the recipe if they turn out well! Because you KNOW I can’t just follow a recipe, I HAVE to make it mine. (recipe’s huh!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2009 8:57 am

    Your photos are amazing!

  2. June 20, 2009 9:16 am

    I can’t take credit for all of them, usually you can tell which ones aren’t mine though, and I do try to credit LOL

Leave a Reply

