Skip to content

Chicken Verde Tamales

June 24, 2009

So today I finally got the tamales done.

A few days ago, I put a whole fryer chicken in the crockpot with a cup of water and let it cook for hoooooouuuuuurs. Yes dears, probably about 12 hours LOL! I put it in the fridge before going to bed.

Day 2? I deboned the chicken, the bones were nice and soft at this point and my dog was quite please with her chicken broth and bones breakfast.

I put all the chicken meat back in the crockpot with a can of diced green chiles, and a small jar of salsa verde.

I let it cook about 3 hours, added a can of black beans, some cumin, garlic, salt, cilantro and another can of green chiles. (heh)

For the tamale/masa covering, I followed the instruction upon my package, but instead of using lard, I used bacon grease. Mmmmmm bacon. It really added SO much extra flavor and didn’t detract at all from the taste.

The kids have declared them best ever and kept hovering over the pot I had them steaming in LOL! Even the picky 2 year old ate a small one.

You want to see pictures? My oldest daughter took them, she’s a much better photog than I ever thought of being. I’m artsy in a lot of ways, but not THAT one LOL

Spreading the masa on the cornhusk

Now for the filling

Rolling the tamale up

Rolling the tamale up

Tieing a knot on the tamales

Tieing a knot on the tamales

Tamales in the pot for their steaming

Tamales in the pot for their steaming

Kaia entertaining herself while mom makes dinner

Kaia entertaining herself while mom makes dinner

My photog doing a self portrait with her little sister

My photog doing a self portrait with her little sister

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kame-Kame permalink
    June 24, 2009 7:43 pm

    Heyyy,
    we look pretty nice there.
    Kaia and me, I mean.

Leave a Reply

