Skip to content

Kombucha Tea = Vinegar!

July 23, 2009

kombuchaClick the picture to go directly to an article by Arwen O’Reilly about Kombucha (picture is her’s as well! isn’t it awesome!!)

First of all. This particular entry has been getting CRAZY hits. Like over 100 a day. Could I ask you lovely people to please take a moment to comment and let me know where you found me. I’m going mad with curiosity! HALP!?

This article/recipe is for those of you who already own a kombucha SCOBY, or have access to getting one, and are semi-familiar with the premise of Kombucha Tea. I’m not going to make any health claims or any boasts about how awesome it is.

I will however say I’m a busy woman. And I take time, several hours a month, and put it into making kombucha, so you can draw your conclusions for that LOL

Edited to Add: 4/20/10

If you’d like to buy a Kombucha Tea/Vinegar starter kit from me, here’s your opportunity. I’ve got enough for 5 people. Head to paypal and my email is flisleshnitz@gmail.com . It’s 5.99 for the starter tea and SCOBY, and includes shipping/handling/packaging. I’ll ship the day after I get your payment.

Making Kombucha Tea into Vinegar for home use

Step 1. Make tea – 4 tea bags for vinegar, 6 for drinking kombucha
Step 2. When tea is done, but still hot – add in 3/4 cup of sugar for each gallon of water
Step 3. You let the water cool to room temp.
Step 4. Add the tea to your kombucha tea starter, and the kombucha mushroom that you’ve put in a big container (5 gallon bucket, 5 gallon water jug, etc)
Step 5. Let it sit about a week and a half in a cool dark place.
Step 6. Using a pressure cooker or large 4/5 gallon pot, place a filter where you can dump the kombucha tea through it. I use a large cloth one over the top of my pot.  Run all the kombucha tea through a filter. When the cloth starts getting clogged with debris. I take it off and rinse it, then put it back on. I keep dumping the kombucha in the pot until I’ve got about 3 inches left in the bottom of my container (the starter tea) and the mushroom of course.
Step 7. Put the pot on simmer for about 2 hours if it’s a large pot. If it’s a pressure cooker, 20 min on 10lbs. The idea is to kill all the bacteria in the kombucha tea that make up the SCOBY or the ‘mother’ so no new one can grow.
Step 8. It’s now vinegar, run it through another filter, to catch all of the dead ‘mother’ particles.
Step 9. Place your vinegar in it’s storage containers.

I use vinegar all over the house. I use it as a hair rinse in the bathroom. It’s in several small spray bottles all over the house with some basil tea as a homemade ‘febreeze’. It’s in a gallon container in the laundry room to put in a downy ball for each load of laundry (it makes hung laundry less crunchy, helps eliminate problems with hard water, which is important to me as we use cloth diapers and cloth pads) We use it in cleaning counters, sinks, and most especially in cleaning hard water off of the shower walls, shower fixtures and toilet insides. I also give vinegar to my neighbors, who love it LOL.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 12:41 pm

    Thanks for stopping by the Homesteadblogger Front Porch and leaving your tip for making carpet freshener. That’s a great idea, I’ll have to try it. I have masa in the pantry … my husband would prefer I make tortillas with it, but that’s not likely to happen any time soon … the carpets get vacuumed much more frequently 😉 !

    I enjoyed this info. on making Kombucha vinegar. My husband makes Kombucha, and lately it has not had as much attention as need be for it to be fit to drink. We use lots of vinegar in our household too, from cleaning the house to washing my hair. I’ll have to give this a try. Thanks so much!
    Blessings,
    Catherine

  2. Mary permalink
    February 17, 2010 3:44 pm

    Oooh, I didn’t know this was your blog! You’re such a versatile woman. Interesting info on the kombucha vinegar…kombucha seems to be a recurrent theme in my life this week.

  3. February 17, 2010 4:02 pm

    Kombucha is good stuff. It’s a taste you get used to, it’s rather like carbonated apple cider vinegar, so it helps if you like that LOL

  4. Charmaine permalink
    September 16, 2011 10:09 pm

    I found this post on your sidebar. I found your site through a google search for upcycle + t shirt. I found the mega post. You have been bookmarked and I intend to share a link!

  5. Vicky permalink
    December 23, 2011 6:32 pm

    So glad to find someone else using their Kombucha as a vinegar cleaner. I decided to try using my Kombucha for cleaning when I had a large surplus and was pleasantly surprised to see how well it worked. It was great to find your post and see that you are doing it too!

  6. Shaniqua permalink
    August 30, 2012 2:56 pm

    I googled using kombucha to clean

Trackbacks

  1. Frugal Housewife – Homemade Cleaning « Spiral Owl’s Create-it Blog

Leave a Reply

