Skip to content

My GF Bread vs: Pamela’s Bread Mix

July 25, 2009

First, the pictures and I think you’ll come to the same conclusion I did:

View from the top Pamela's then Mine

View from the top Pamela's then Mine

Texture and Appearance seems very similar

Texture and Appearance seems very similar

Time for the Taste Test - Pamela's on one side. Mine on the other!

Time for the Taste Test - Pamela's on one side. Mine on the other!

My bread was made with my GF flour mix – the most nutritionally healthy bread mix (unlike rice mixes) that I could come up with which didn’t taste extremely strongly (like bean mixes) and most resembled wheat flour cooking. The muffins, pancakes and other things that we make with it all turn out very well and even our gluten-eaters gobble them down. But bread for sandwiches seems like the ultimate test of your flour mix. Even just a bit off or crumbly and it doesn’t satisfy that deep-set need for ‘just like wheat bread’.

First thing, upon looking at the bread. Pamela’s browned more nicely, and had a smoother top. They both rose about the same however.
I also added flax seed and a 1/4th of a cup mollasses to both mixes. Need those extra bits of fiber and vits/minerals!

Smelling the bread, they both smelled pretty awesome. However, mine smelled a BIT more yeasty than it should. I was a dope and added an extra 1/2 tsp of yeast to the mix just to ‘see’. Instead of following what I knew. Darn me and my drive to experiment!

Both mixes were put in the bread maker, same ‘dough’ setting, rose once, and then taken out, put in my grandma’s old pans, let to rise again, then baked.

Both breads had similar texture, and amount of holes. My bread had a few larger holes in it than Pamela’s did, and her bread seemed a bit less crumbly. Plus the strong yeasty smell my bread was emitting!

Taste? Well, taste, Pamela’s won! My bread was much to yeasty, the texture wasn’t quite right due to the crumbly-ness (and had to be toasted to eat the rest of the loaf)

What am I going to do next time I make my own bread? Well, I’m going to use less yeast (ha!) and I’m going to add in a packet of unflavored gelatin to the mix. Plus some powdered milk. I think this might fix most of the problems!

So until next time…

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 8:06 pm

    I think it’s great you make gluten free bread. Also I think it’s great you have a drive to experiment. That’s how you improve!

Leave a Reply

