Skip to content

Simple Easy GF Chicken Corn Chowder

December 15, 2009

So in an effort to try and post more. To make my brain start thinking in words. My fingers typing with speedy precision like days of old. I’m going to copy other bloggers I read and post a ‘what can I eat that’s GF’ type post every morning highlighting what we had for dinner the night before. Because unless I’m sick and not eating. I promise you, Morgan and I eat every single night and it’s home-made dinner.

We are not eating cereal, dinner is not pre-made from a box (unless it’s leftovers LOL) it is going to be something I threw together, and that with 6 kids and a Twenty yo ‘kid’ underfoot. And only TWO of us are GF. So it better be good, or I’m going to hear it about making everyone else eat ‘yuck’ to feed Morgan and I…
So on to lasts nights dinner!

Chicken Corn Chowder
(this would also be super in a crockpot. Just put all steps together huh?)
Bacon Grease (optional) or 1 TB oil
1 cup of diced chicken (I used 2 large cans as they were on sale)
1 small onion
1 TB parsley

Place chicken, water and all in a pot, dice up the onion, and place in the grease.
Simmer together for an hour.
Add in:

6 cups of water
5 large potatoes diced
1/2 tsp basil

Simmer for 2 hours on low.

When the potatoes are breaking apart, help them along by mashing them either with a special mashing tool or the back of a large spoon or fork. This will thicken the broth.

Add in:

Salt and pepper to taste
1 cup frozen corn, or 1 can corn.

Stir and serve.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

