Skip to content

Oatmeal – My Secret

February 21, 2010

We’ve run out of milk this morning (the perils of not having your own milk animals!), somehow we never got to the store yesterday to buy coffee and milk. (I’m drinking instant coffee, it’s a hardship!) So breakfast this morning is limited to a couple of things.

Pancakes or Oatmeal.

We can’t do grits either because our chickens haven’t laid in a couple of days (that’s 16 less eggs than normal) and who can have grits without eggs?

Mom/Me really doesn’t feel like standing over a griddle for at least an hour making pancakes. 6 kids, 1 extra spending the night, plus a Katy and that’s 8 kids needing pancakes, at least 2 each, sometimes more like 3/4. Ugh. Not up to that this morning while drinking my instant coffee.

So the choice is easy, we are having oatmeal this morning.

Ugh, you say.

And I’ll say what I always do.

‘Not *my* oatmeal. Just try it. Take a bite, you’ll see!’

‘Mmmmmm’ they say. ‘Ok, I’ll have a bowl.’

‘What’s your secret says my honey’, the kids HATE my oatmeal. Heck, I don’t even like it much. ‘Well’, says I,’ it’s 2 things really, Butter and Cardamom.’

But really it’s the technique. So here, I’ll teach you.

First Trick

it’s 1 TB of butter, 1 heaping TB of brown sugar, 1 large pinch cinnamon and 1 small pinch cardamom PER PERSON.

Butter, brown sugar, cinnamon and cardamom

So here in my dutch oven, we’ve got 8 TB’s of butter, 8 heaping Tb’s of brown sugar, and matching amounts of cinnamon and cardamom.

You let em simmer in a big ol’ pot of water. How big? Well shoot. I didn’t measure. I just look at it and know it’s big enough for all the kids. Um, well I’d guess about 1 cup to 1 1/4 cup per person ok?

Next trick. Dried fruit. You can use whatever kind of fruit you want. Around here raisins and apples are most common. Followed by cranberries and peaches.  Throw a handful per person into the water. Let em simmer in the water until the dried fruit has plumped up.

Letting the butter melt and the fruit plump up.

Now here’s where I start pouring the oatmeal in and gently stirring the mixture. As SOON as the mixture starts giving me even a LITTLE grief about stirring. I stop pouring. That’s enough oatmeal. Every time.

watery oatmeal

Just right Oatmeal

Now you just let the mix simmer, go check another website or something, maybe feed the chickens really quick and when you go back. Breakfast will be done, and it will be super delicious.

4 of the 8 kids working on seconds

(if you are GF, use GF oats ok)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 5:27 pm

    You don’t have to sell the stuff to me, I LOVE oatmeal. Even the bad (instant) kind. But really, good steel cut or scottish cut oats, cooked from scratch, with brown sugar or fruit or nuts… maybe some cinnamon…. a splash of soy milk. YUM! And my grandkids all think oatmeal at Grammy’s house is a special treat, because they only get cold cereal at home.

  2. February 26, 2010 12:46 am

    That sounds delicious. I don’t cook oatmeal often because the gf oats are so expensive, but it’s a nice change once in a while. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

