Skip to content

Gluten Free Mad Hatter Cake

May 9, 2010

What I did:

Take 4 boxes of Betty Crocker Gluten Free Cake Mix – 2 yellow – 2 devils food

2 Family Size boxes of instant pudding mix – 1 chocolate – 1 vanilla

Make cakes according to directions – but add 1/2 of the family size package of pudding to it during mixing.

Add full amount of cake to circular cake pan, treated according to directions, and cook as per directions

Cool them off

Swipe the top with your chosen cake filling (I chose cheesecake with homemade strawberry preserves)

the bottom layer looks funny because it's dyed green

Continue until they are all stacked well together

Then I put the whole shebang in the fridge for a few hours and let it chill out

A few hours later….. I took it out and started carving on it. If it had been taller, I’d have inserted the skewers in it already to make sure it stayed up. But since I was making a Mad Hatter Hat, it didn’t really matter much if the cake got a little skewed from straight huh?

So carving

I inserted the skewers at this point, picking a point about an inch from the edge and aiming slightly inward to make sure they went in at an angle. I put in four, just to be safe since it *did* go to my daughters prom, and there was going to be loud bass, teens bumping into the display table and lots of dancing…

Then I put the crumb coat on…

Then I put it in the fridge for about an hour and went to go read….

After my lovely refreshing read… I went to go make the marshmallow fondant. Then dye it and roll it out.

making texture on the fondant with wax paperTexture on the fondant with wax paper

texture on the fondant

The actual Hat. I got in a serious time crunch at the end (I was 20 min late, as I was chaperoning) The fondant got too sticky to deal with well, so it doesn’t look as well as it should have. But all in all, still pretty cool. The teens were impressed. Even better, the only people that had a clue it was gluten free were my daughters close friends. Not ONE person commented on a ‘funny taste’ or anything of that nature.

I also got some requests to make birthday cakes for friends!

Would I use Betty Crocker Cake mixes again? In A HEARTBEAT!.

If they’ll work for a cake like this, they will work for anything!

Leave a Reply

